Only She Remembers by Debi Crow

It’s inevitable
He’ll deny everything, of course he will
He wasn’t even there, he’s never seen her before
He only bought her a drink, and then
the silly bitch drank too much, didn’t she?

He wasn’t even there, though, so, you know, I don’t know
What are you going to do? Accuse
him of something? He’s never seen you!
What are you going to do? What are you going to do?

choke, stab, choke, stab, choke, stab, choke, stab…
There is a life in there, but where, but where, he
pulled it out and laid it in the air
Stretched it over the bonnet of his car
and rode her, bragging into her hair…

Telling of the affair, and pulling at her hair, until
she’s choked and stabbed and Only She Remembers.

by Debi Crow

3 Responses

  1. I hear your voice….

  2. I find this one difficult to read back. It’s very raw, and could be triggering I think (sorry if it is). It’s not a poem I spent hours on getting the rythm right and exactly the right words etc like some of them, it’s just straight from the gut, no apologies.

  3. This one is my favourite (I hope I’m allowed to say that). I really love the natural rhythm and of course it is incredibly vivid and moving. Brilliant work Debi. I hope to see more of your work.

Leave a Reply

